9 local teachers honored

The School District of Philadelphia and the Christian R. and Mary F. Lindback Foundation of Philadelphia honored 60 teachers, including nine educators who work in South Philadelphia, via the 2022 Lindback Award for Distinguished Teachers. 

The award, funded by the Lindback Foundation since 2011, is an opportunity for exceptional teachers from city schools to be recognized for their dedication to public school students. Recipients also receive a $3,500 cash award.

South Philly teachers are Jenna Beck and Meredith Seung Mee Buse of Vare-Washington Elementary School, John Burks-Silver of Chester A. Arthur School, Nicole Caucci of George Sharswood School, Dr. Aimee Davis of Horace Furness High School, Rachel Kohan-Garvey of the Academy at Palumbo, Kate Melnick of George W. Childs School, Jacquelyn Mengel of George W. Nebinger School and LoAn Nguyen-Ngo of Eliza B. Kirkbride School.

“Teachers have always been difference-makers in the lives of our students, reaching students well beyond their work in the classroom,” said Superintendent William R. Hite Jr. “These last few years, our teachers have truly gone above and beyond to support the academic and social-emotional needs of our students during these unprecedented times.”

The awards ceremony took place virtually on May 24 via the district’s Facebook page. 

“We truly appreciate the Lindback Foundation for their continued commitment in helping us honor and show gratitude to our teachers for their commitment to educating, supporting, mentoring and nurturing our students,” Hite added. “It’s clear that the Lindback Foundation and its trustees understand the positive impact that exceptional teachers can have on our students, school communities and society.”

Winning teachers were selected by the Lindback Foundation’s Selection Committee based on their leadership and humanitarian contributions to their respective school communities.

“In these unprecedented and challenging times confronting COVID, as well as infrastructure and resource issues, these outstanding teachers deserve this Lindback Award recognition and our collective thanks for their continuing commitment, perseverance and efforts to educate and support their students, schools and communities,” Lindback Foundation Trustee David Loder said.